The National Arbitration Forum announced that a ruling has been issued in favor of Verizon,regarding rights to the Internet domain name Verzon.com domain name. Verizon,represented in this case by Patrick M. Flaherty ,submitted a complaint to the the National Arbitration Forum,asserting legal rights to the disputed domain name.
Verizon has many trademark registrations with the United States Patent and Trademark Office for the "Verizon" mark.Therefore,they contended that the disputed domain name is confusingly similar to its trademark.
moreover,they contended that the respondent registered and used the domain name in bad faith .
"Respondent’s disputed domain name resolves to a website that displays various third-party links, some of which are for Complainant and its products, and some of which are for the products and services of Complainant’s competitors. "
"Respondent is using the confusingly similar <verzon.com> domain name to display hyperlinks to Complainant and Complainant’s competitors in the wireless communication and cellular device industry. The confusion caused to Internet users results in Respondent’s commercial gain, and is further evidence of Respondent’s bad faith registration and use of the disputed domain name. "
Because the complainant managed to demonstrate all the elements needed, and because the respondent failed to submit a response in this proceeding,the Panel ordered that the disputed domain name be transferred from the respondent to the complainant.
You can read the decision here .



