Newsletter

Three other domain names for Blackberry

Novak Druce & Quigg LLP has filed with WIPO Arbitration and Mediation Center for three domain names,"berrystoreapp.com", "berrystore.mobi" and "berrystore.org".

The company represented by Novak Druce & Quigg LLP,Research In Motion Limited provides wireless mobile comunications systems with computer facilities,known as BlackBerry.They also have more then 1500 pending trademark applications in over 120 countries .
In the complainant they say "the disputed domain names are identical or confusingly similar to a trademark or service mark in which it has rights. The disputed domain names all incorporate the BERRY portion of the Complainant’s registered trademark BLACKBERRY.More,they add they have "trademarks for the word BERRY alone, which is a nickname for its products, and has advertised its products under the name “Berry”. It is submitted that previous UDRP panels have held that an abbreviation of a registered mark incorporated into a domain name may constitute confusing similarity."
The respondent tries to explain that there are many domain names which include "berry" or "black",and those domain names are understood to be diferent from Blackberry.
All in all,the Panel decided that is fair to order the transfer of the domain names to the complainant.

 

 

 
Domain
News
http://www.domainews.com
DomainNews
2, Rue Leon Laval
Leudelange
Domain
3372
Luxembourg
+352.26.316.1
DomainNews: 49.5678; 6.06412
Domain Name News, Domain Industry News, ICANN News, Registry News