Newsletter

National Westminster Bank wins natwest-inc.com domain name in Arbitration

An arbitrator with National Arbitration Forum has awarded American International Group the natwest-inc.com domain name.
National Westminster Bank PLC submitted a complaint with the National Arbitration Forum.requesting the domain name natwest-inc.com,to be transferred from the respondent to the complainant.
Complainant,owns many trademark registrations for the "Natwest" mark with the United States Patent and Trademark Office and the United Kingdom Intellectual Property Office.
Therefore,they contended in the complaint that the disputed domain name is confusingly similar to tis trademark.
Moreover,they contended that the respondent , Nathaniel Westerly,registered and used the domain name in bad faith.
"Respondent is using the confusingly similar disputed domain name in order to intentionally attract Internet users to its website to “phish” for users’ personal information by creating a strong likelihood of confusion with Complainant’s NATWEST mark. "
"Respondent’s attempt to pass itself off as Complainant is evidence of bad faith registration and use."
Because the respondent in the case did not file an official response,and because the complainant managed to demonstrate all the elements needed,the Panel decided the disputed domain name to be transferred from the respondent to the complainant.

You can see the decision here


 
Domain
News
http://www.domainews.com
DomainNews
2, Rue Leon Laval
Leudelange
Domain
3372
Luxembourg
+352.26.316.1
DomainNews: 49.5678; 6.06412
Domain Name News, Domain Industry News, ICANN News, Registry News