National Westminster Bank,a retail bank in the United Kingdom has recently won a domain name dispute.
Also known by its trading name,NatWest,the bank was represented in this case by James A. Thomas.A complainant was submitted to the National Arbitration Forum,in which they requested the domain name natwesr.com to be transferred from the respondent to the comaplainant.
The complainant contended that the domain name is confusingly similar to its trademark and that the respondent,DiamondPointEnterprisesLimited,registered and used the domain name in bad faith.
"Respondent attempts to attract Internet users interested in Complainant’s goods and services, including Complainant’s current and prospective customers. Respondent then uses the disputed domain name to steer those users to the websites of Complainant’s competitors which the Panel finds is a disruption of Complainant’s business and is evidence of Respondent’s bad faith registration and use."
"Respondent has engaged in the practice of typosquatting by using a common mistyping of Complainant’s NATWEST mark to misdirect Internet users. The Panel finds typosquatting is itself evidence of bad faith registration and use."
Because the respondent failed to submit a response in this case and because the complainant managed to demonstrate all the elements needed,the Panel decided the disputed domain name to be transferred from the respondent to the complainant.
You can see the decision here .



