National Westminster Bank,a retail bank in the United Kingdom has recently won a domain name case.
Also known by its trading name,NatWest,the bank was represented in this case by James A. Thomas.
A complainant was submitted to the National Arbitration Forum,in which they requested the domain name onlinebankingnatwest.com to be transferred from the respondent to the complainant.
In the complainant NatWest contended that the disputed domain name is confudingly similar to its trademark.Moreover,they also contended that the respondent,Hu Lim,registered and used the domain name in bad faith .
"Respondent is using the disputed domain name to resolve to a website displaying links to competing third-party websites. The Panel finds Respondent’s use constitutes disruption, which is evidence of bad faith registration and use ."
"Respondent’s resolving website also is an attempt to profit by creating a likelihood of confusion as to Complainant’s affiliation or sponsorship of the resolving website. Respondent presumably profits from the display of competitive links through the receipt of click-through fees. "
Because the respondent failed to submit a response in this proceeding and because the compainant managed to demomstrate all the elements required,the Panel decided the disputed domain name to be transferred from the respondent to the complainant.
You can read here the decision .

