Newsletter

Morgan Stanley wins domain name case

Morgan Stanley,a global financial services firm submitted a complaint to the National Arbitration Forum requesting the domain name morgansstanley.com to be transferred to them .

Morgan Stanley provided evidence for the existence of "Morgan Stanley" mark , registered with the USPTO .Therefore,the firm contended that the domain name is confusingly similar to its "Morgan Stanley" mark .
Moreover,the global financial services firm said in the complaint that the respondent reigstered and used the disputed domain name in bad faith .
"Respondent’s use of the <morgansstanley.com> domain name to display links to third-party websites seeking to compete directly with Complainant is further evidence of bad faith.  The Panel finds that a registered domain name used primarily to disrupt the business of a competitor demonstrates bad faith regitration and use."
"Respondent is using the <morgansstanley.com> domain name in order to intentionally attract Internet users to its website by creating a likelihood of confusion with Complainant’s MORGAN STANLEY mark and offering third-party links to competitor’s websites." ,said also the complainant .
Because the respondent failed to submit a response in this proceeding and because the complainant managed to demonstrate all the elements required,the Panel decided that the disputed domain name to be transferred from the respondent to the complainant .

You can read here the decision .

 

 

 
Domain
News
http://www.domainews.com
DomainNews
2, Rue Leon Laval
Leudelange
Domain
3372
Luxembourg
+352.26.316.1
DomainNews: 49.5678; 6.06412
Domain Name News, Domain Industry News, ICANN News, Registry News