Newsletter



Receive HTML?

Michelin wins domain name case

E-mail Print

Michelin ,the world's largest tyre manufacturer submitted a complaint to the National Arbitration Forum,requesting the domain name,michelintires.org ,to be transferred from the respondent to the complainant. The complainant is the owner of many registered trademarks for " Michelin" all over the world.Therefore,the company represented by Neil M. Batavia in this case contended that the disputed domain name is confusingly similar to its trademark.
Moreover,Neil M. Batavia contended that the respondent registered and used the domain name in bad faith .
"Respondent’s domain name resolves to a website displaying click-through links which resolve to the websites of Complainant’s business competitors.  Complainant contends that this diversion scheme is disrupting Complainant’s business by misleading Internet users searching for Complainant’s tire services to the websites of its competitors."
"Respondent’s use of the domain name confusingly similar to Complainant’s mark is an attempt by Respondent to capitalize on the goodwill that Complainant has established in its MICHELIN mark.     Therefore, we further conclude that Respondent has engaged in bad faith registration and use of the contested domain ."
Because the respondent failed to submit a response in this proceeding and because the complainant managed to demonstrate all the elements required,the Panel decided the disputed domain name to be transferred from the respondent to the complainant.

You can see here the decision .


DKD DomainNews