Newsletter

MGM Resorts International wins Belaggio.com and Mandalabay.com domains in arbitration

An arbitrator with the National Arbitration Forum has awarded MGM Resorts International two domain names:Belaggio.com and Mandalabay.com .MGM Resorts submitted a complaint with the National Arbitration Forum on January 3,2012,asserting legal rights over the two dispute domain names . MGM Resorts International owns many trademark registrations for the "Bellagio" and "Mandala Bay" marks with the United States Patent and Trademark Office.Therefore it is more than obvious that the disputed domain names are confusingly similar to its trademarks .

MGM contended in the complaint that the respondent,registered and used the disputed domain names in bad faith and managed to demonstrate that :

"Respondent’s disputed domain names resolve to a website containing links to third-party websites, some of which compete with Complainant. It is clear that this activity disrupts Complainant’s business, as Internet users desiring Complainant’s products will be directed to sites featuring competing products as well as Complainant’s services. "

"The Panel has previously concluded that Respondent is engaged in the practice of typosquatting through the use of the confusingly similar disputed domain name."

The Panel ordered the disputed domain names to be transferred from the respondent to the complainant.

You can read the decision here .

 

 
Domain
News
http://www.domainews.com
DomainNews
2, Rue Leon Laval
Leudelange
Domain
3372
Luxembourg
+352.26.316.1
DomainNews: 49.5678; 6.06412
Domain Name News, Domain Industry News, ICANN News, Registry News