
An arbitrator with the WIPO Arbitration and Mediation Center has awarded MasterCardWorld.com domain name to Mastercard International Incorporated of Purchase .The company submitted a complaint to the WIPO Arbitration and Mediation Center on September 7,2011,asserting legal rights over the disputed domain name.
Mastercard owns many trademark registrations for the "Mastercard" mark.Therefore,it is more than obvious that the disputed domain name is confusingly similar to its trademark.Moreover,the company contended that the respondent registered and used the disputed domain name in bad faith .
"Since registering the disputed domain name the Respondent has directed it to the website of the Complainant’s major competitor, “Visa”. There is no evidence as to why it would do so unless it were out of malice or for commercial gain, as by a pay-per-click royalty. The Complainant submits that it was done for commercial gain and the Respondent has not sought to rebut that submission."
The Panel ordered the disputed domain name be transferred from the respondent to the complainant
You can read the decision
here .