Newsletter

Mastercard wins domain name case

MasterCard,a multinational corporation,submitted a complaint with the WIPO Arbitration and Mediation Center,requesting the domain name 1mastercardonline.com to be transferred from the respondent to the complainant.

Mastercard owns many registered trademarks all over the world.The company owns both "Mastercard" and "Mastercard online" marks.
Therefore it is more than obvious that the disputed domain name is confusingly similar to the company's "Mastercard" and "Mastercard Online" marks.
Moreover,it seems that the respondent,Jose Carlos Bisognin,registered and used the domain name in bad faith.He used the disputed domain name "to divert Internet users to links related to Complainant’s services and products, as well as to services and products provided by competitors of Complainant with the likely purpose of generating “click-through” revenue.".
And things went much further.It seems that the respondent "posted, on a web page imitating Complainant’s original website, and under a legend in Portuguese which may be translated as “Welcome to MasterCard Brazil”, a form that Internet users were induced to fill with personal information related to their credit cards, such as full name, name as printed on the card, card number, expiration date, verification code, etc."
Therefore,the Panel decided the domain name to be transferred from the respondent to the complainant.

 

 

 

 
Domain
News
http://www.domainews.com
DomainNews
2, Rue Leon Laval
Leudelange
Domain
3372
Luxembourg
+352.26.316.1
DomainNews: 49.5678; 6.06412
Domain Name News, Domain Industry News, ICANN News, Registry News