MasterCard,a multinational corporation,submitted a complaint with the WIPO Arbitration and Mediation Center,requesting the domain name mastercard-creditcard.com to be transferred from the respondent to the complainant.
The corporation has registered trade mark rights in the " Mastercard" mark.Therefore,the complainant,represented by Pattishall McAuliffe contended in the complaint that the domain name is confusingly similar to its trademark.
Moreover,they contended that the respondent,Mohamed Noman registered and used the domain name in bad faith .
"The Respondent registered and is using the domain name in dispute in bad faith. The Complainant submits that on the evidence it is apparent that the domain name in dispute is “deliberately used for commercial gain to attract Internet users to Respondent’s website based on a likelihood of confusion with Complainant’s MASTERCARD marks”.
"The evidence shows that the domain name in dispute apparently generates revenue for the Respondent when confused consumers click through to sites offering the goods and services of both the Complainant and the Complainant’s direct competitors."
Becuse the respondent failed to submit a response in this proceeding and because the complainant managed to demonstrate all the elements required ,the Panel decided the disputed domain name to be transferred from the respondent to the complainant.
You can read the decision here .

