Louis Vuitton Malletier,the international French fashion house has recently submitted a complaint to the National Arbitration Forum,requesting the domain name louisvuittontobacco.com to be transferred from the respondent to the complainant.
As we all know,Louis Vuitton is the owner of the registered "Louis Vuitton" mark with the United States Patent and Trademark Office.Therefore LV,represented in this case by J. Andrew Coombs,contended in the complaint that the disputed domain name is confusingly similar to the "Louis Vuitton" mark.
"Complainant argues that Respondent’s <louisvuittontobacco.com> domain name is confusingly similar to Complainant’s LOUIS VUITTON mark pursuant to Policy ¶ 4(a)(i). Respondent’s disputed domain name contains Complainant’s mark in its entirety, adds the generic term “tobacco,” and adds the generic top-level domain (“gTLD”) “.com.” ."
Moreover,they contended the respondent registered and used the domain name in bad faith.
"Respondent has registered the <louisvuittontobacco.com> domain name but has failed to make an active use of it. The Panel finds that such non-use consitutes bad faith registration and use."
Because the respondent failed to submit a response in this proceeding and because the complainant managed to demonstrate all the elements needed,the Panel decided the disputed domain name to be transferred from the respondent to the complainant.
You can find here the decision .




