Newsletter

Lawsuit filed by Sonic for cyber-squatting

It seems like Sonic Corp. filed a lawsuit for cyber-squatting.

According to an article from www.newsok.com Sonic claims that a company established a web site at mysonic.com that sends visitors to Burger King's home page.

The problem is that the domain name mysonic.com is confusingly similar to Sonic's trademark .Moreover,Burger King is a direct competitor of Sonic,so you can imagine that using the disuted domain name will bring many damages to Sonic company.

"When Internet users attempt to visit the Web site hosted at the mysonic.com, the users are automatically redirected to the home page for Burger King Brands Inc. at bk.com," the suit said. "In this way, defendant Bright Orange is using the mysonic.com domain name to advertise and promote the goods and services offered by Burger King, a direct competitor of Sonic."

 

 
Domain
News
http://www.domainews.com
DomainNews
2, Rue Leon Laval
Leudelange
Domain
3372
Luxembourg
+352.26.316.1
DomainNews: 49.5678; 6.06412
Domain Name News, Domain Industry News, ICANN News, Registry News