Lacoste,an apparel company that sells high-end clothing,footwear,perfume and some other products filed a complaint with the WIPO Arbitration and Mediation Center,requesting the domain name lacosteshopsale.com, to be transfered to them.
It is well known that Lacoste has many registered trademarks for the term "Lacoste" all over the world.Because the respondent,did not respond in any way,it's clear that the disputed domain name was registered in bad faith.
"The Complainant further argues that the disputed domain name is likely to mislead or confuse the public as to its source or origin, and the public is likely to believe that the Complainant has authorized or endorsed the Respondent.
The Complainant further argues that the Respondent is using the disputed domain name to attract, for commercial gain, Internet users to its website by creating a likelihood of confusion with the Complainant’s mark."
In an attempt to demonstrate that the domain name was confusingly similar to its trademark the company contended in the complaint that the domain name is confusingly similar to Lacoste trademark,because it incorporates their famous trademark entirely.
Having established all three elements required ,the Panel ordered the domain name,lacosteshopsale.com to be transferred from the respondent to the compliant.
You can see the decision here .



