Newsletter

Hewlett-Packard wins domain name case

Hewlett-Packard,a technology corporation also known as HP just won a domain name case . HP submitted a complaint to the     National Arbitration Forum,requesting the domain name hpcomputer.com to be transferred from the respondent to the complainant.
HP has a trademark registration with the USPTO for the "HP" mark .
Represented by James F. Struthers,the complainant,contended that the disputed domain name is confusingly similar to its trademark.
Moreover,the complainant contended that the respondent used and registered the domain name in bad faith.
"Respondent is using the <hpcomputer.com> domain name (initial registration: June 5, 1997) to host a website advertising competitors of Complainant, and that this diversion of Internet users to competing businesses is an intentional disruption of Complainant’s business by Respondent."
"Respondent is gaining commercially from the sales of computer services and products, and that these sales are evidence of Respondent’s bad faith registration and use."
Because the respondent failed to submit a response in this proceeding and because the the complainant managed to demonstrate all the elements needed,the Panel decided the dispute domain name to be transferred from the respondent to the complainant.

You can see the decision here .


 
Domain
News
http://www.domainews.com
DomainNews
2, Rue Leon Laval
Leudelange
Domain
3372
Luxembourg
+352.26.316.1
DomainNews: 49.5678; 6.06412
Domain Name News, Domain Industry News, ICANN News, Registry News