Hewlett-Packard,a technology corporation also known as HP,has recently won a domain name case .
HP submitted a complaint to the National Arbitration Forum,requesting the domain name hpserver.com to be transferred from the respondent to the complainant.
HP has a trademark registration with the United States Patent and Trademark Office for the "HP" mark .
Represented by Molly Buck Richard,the complainant,contended that the disputed domain name is confusingly similar to its trademark.
Moreover,the complainant contended that the respondent used and registered the domain name in bad faith.
"Respondent’s <hpserver.com> domain name resolves to a website featuring hyperlinks and advertisements to Complainant’s competitors in the technology products and services business. Respondent also includes outdated and incorrect information about Complainant’s server products on the resolving website. Internet users searching for Complainant’s server products may instead purchase those products from Complainant’s competitors in the technology products and services business because of Respondent’s confusingly similar disputed domain name. "
Because the respondent failed to submit a response in this proceeding and because the complainant managed to demonstrate all the elements needed,the Panel ordered hpserver.com domain name to be transferred from the respondent to the complainant.
You can see the decision here .

