WIPO announced that a rulling has been issued in favor of Google regarding rights to the Internet domain name vietnamadwords.com .
Google,represented in this case by Ranjan Narula Associates filed a complaint with the WIPO Arbitration and Mediation Center,asserting legal rights to the disputed domain name.
The complainant has offered advertising services under the mark Adwords since 2001 .Therefore,they contended in the complaint that the domain name is confusingly similar to its trademark.
Moreover,they contended that the respondent registered and used the domain name in bad faith.
"Respondent had Complainant and its ADWORDS mark in mind when registering the Domain Name. The former prominent use of the word Google on Respondent’s website makes this conclusion virtually inescapable."
"Respondent’s conduct constitutes an intentional attempt to attract, for commercial gain, Internet users to Respondent’s site by creating a likelihood of confusion between the ADWORDS mark and the Domain Name."
Because the respondent failed to submit a response in this proceeding and because the complainant managed to demonstrate all the elements needed,the Panel decided the disputed domain name be transferred from the respondent to the complainant.
You can read the decision here .



