WIPO announced that a ruling has been issued in favor of Google regarding rights to the Internet domain name google74.com.
Google,represented in this case by Ranjan Narula Associates filed a complaint with the WIPO Arbitration and Mediation Center asserting legal rights to the disputed domain name.
The complainant owns many registration for the "Google" mark .Therefore,they contended in the complaint that the domain name is confusingly similar to its trademark.
Moreover,they contended that the respondent registered and used the domain name in bad faith.
"In the absence of any response to the Complaint, the only explanation for the Respondent’s registration of the disputed domain name seems to be the Respondent’s intention to either disrupt the Complainant’s relationship with its customers or potential customers, attempt to attract Internet users for potential gain or perhaps also persuade the Complainant to buy the domain name from it for an amount in excess of the Respondent’s out-of-pocket expenses. These all constitute evidence of registration and use in bad faith."
Because the respondent failed to submit a response in this proceeding and because the complainant managed to demonstrate all the elements required,the Panel ordered the disputed domain name to be transferred from the respondent to the complainant.
You can read the decision here .



