WIPO Arbitration and Mediation Center announced that a ruling has been issued in favor of General Motors,one of the largest automotive manufacturing companies in the world ,regarding rights to the Internet domain name ChevroletFinancial.com .
General Motors filed a complaint with the WIPO Arbitration and Mediation Center on December 21,2010,asserting legal rights over the disputed domain name .
General Motors owns more than 1000 trade mark registrations all over the world for the "Chevrolet" mark .Therefore,the company contended in the complaint that the disputed domain name is confusingly similar to its trademark.Moreover,they contended that the respondent registered and used the disputed domain name in bad faith.
"Given the fame of the CHEVROLET mark, the Panel finds that in all likelihood the Respondent would have been aware of the Complainant’s well-known CHEVROLET trade mark at the time the disputed domain name was registered. The website at the disputed domain name has been set up to provide links to websites of the Complainant’s competitors, no doubt on a “pay per click” basis. "
The Panel decided that the disputed domain name be transferred from the respondent to the complainant.
You can read the decision here .



