OVB Vermögensberatung AG of Köln and Michele Dinoia fight over three character domain name,ovb.com.
An arbitrator has ruled against OVB Vermögensberatung,saying that it was not clear the domain name was registered in bad faith.
"As the Complainant has noted, between 1900 and World War II Camillus Cutlery, one of the oldest knife manufacturers in the United States, produced a well known line of knives under the brand OVB (an acronym for “Our Very Best”). Camillus resurrected the OVB brand use in the early 2000’s and obtained a United States trademark registration for OVB OUR VERY BEST on March 19, 2002. Two months later, the Respondent in May 2002 registered and began using the disputed domain name with a portal site containing advertising links for knives and cutlery. That this is sheer coincidence strikes the Panel as somewhat unlikely, particularly in light of prior decisions suggesting that the Respondent has targeted third-party trademarks on more than one occasion in the past. If this were the case here, however, it would appear that the Respondent was targeting Camillus Cutlery’s trademark rights rather than the Complainant’s trademark when registering the disputed domain name."



