The National Arbitration Forum announced that a ruling has been issued in favor of Disney regarding rights to the Internet domain name WaltDisneyWan.com .Disney,represented in this case by J. Andrew Coombs,submitted a complaint to the National Arbitration Forum,asserting legal rights to the disputed domain name.
The company owns many trademark registrations with the United States Patent and Trademark Office (“USPTO”) for its "DISNEY" mark .Therefore,they contended that the disputed domain name is confusingly similar to its trademark.
Moreover,they contended in the complaint that the respondent registered and used the domain name in bad faith .
"Complainant argues the presence of Complainant’s DISNEY mark in the <waltdisneyswan.com> domain name and the related links on the resolving websites aims to attract Internet users seeking Complainant to Respondent’s website. Complainant asserts that the misappropriation of its mark in this way creates a likelihood of confusion as to the source, sponsorship or affiliation of Respondent’s resolving website."
The Panel ordered the disputed domain name be transferred from the respondent to the complainant.
You can read the decision here .



