Newsletter

DELL wins domain name case

DELL,a multinational technology corporation that sells computers,submitted a complaint to the National Arbitration Forum,requesting the domain name dellfinancial.com to be transferred from the respondent to the complainant. The corporation,represented in this case by Steven M. Levy,is the owner of many registrations with the United States Patent and Trademark Office for the "DELL" mark.
Therefore,they contended in the complaint,that the domain name is confusingly similar to its trademark.
Moreover,they accused the respondent of registering and using the disputed domain name in bad faith.
"Respondent’s disputed domain name resolves to a website that displays links to third-party competitors of Complainant.  The Panel finds Respondent’s registration and use of the <dellfinacial.com> domain name to offer links to third-party websites that compete with Complainant in the computer services industry constitutes a disruption of Complainant’s business and qualifies as bad faith registration and use ."
Because the respondent failed to submit a response in this proceeding and because the complainant managed to demonstrate all the elements required,the Panel decided the disputed domain name to be transferred from the respondent to the complainant.

You can see the decision here


 
Domain
News
http://www.domainews.com
DomainNews
2, Rue Leon Laval
Leudelange
Domain
3372
Luxembourg
+352.26.316.1
DomainNews: 49.5678; 6.06412
Domain Name News, Domain Industry News, ICANN News, Registry News