Chanel,the famous fashion house,has recently won a domain name case,covering five domain names .The fashion house filed a complaint with WIPO Arbitration and Mediation Center,claiming rights over chanelbagsale.com,chanelbageshop.com,chanelhandbags.org,chanel-sale.com and chanelsale.net domain names .
The fashion house owns many trademark registration all over the world for the "Chanel" mark or for marks that include "Chanel".
Therefore,they contended in the complaint that the disputed domain names are confusingly similar to its trademark.
Moreover,they contended that the respondent registered and used the domain names in bad faith.
"The disputed domain names currently resolve to a parking webpage, which offers pay-per-click links in various fields. "
"The Respondent’s use of the name “chanel” to promote similar or identical goods to the goods being sold by the Complainant clearly evidences that the Respondent registered these disputed domain names with knowledge of the Complainant and of the use the Complainant is making in the mark CHANEL and subsequent intent to trade off the value of these. "
Because the respondent failed to submit a response in this proceeding and because the complainant managed to demonstrate all the elements needed,the Panel ordered the disputed domain name be transferred from the respondent to the complainant.
You can read the decision here .




