Newsletter

e-mail address:

First Name:

Last Name:


Get Adobe Flash player

Site Sponsors

Get Adobe Flash player

Cartier wins domain name case

E-mail Print

MicrosoftInternetExplorer4

Cartier,a world famous company,has recently won cartierlovejewelry.com domain name in arbitration. MicrosoftInternetExplorer4

The company filed a complaint with the WIPO Arbitration and Mediation Center,requesting the disputed domain name to be transferred from the respondent to the complainant.

Cartier owns the registered mark "Cartier".Therefore,they contended in the complaint that the disputed domain name is confusingly similar to its trademark.

Moreover,they contended that the respondent registered and used the domain name in bad faith.

"Respondent was aware of the Complainant’s marks when he registered and started using the disputed domain name, because inter alia the domain name contains the Complainant’s mark and the website offers to sell counterfeit imitations of the Complainant’s products."

"Respondent is using the disputed domain name to intentionally attract, for commercial gain, Internet users to its website, by creating a likelihood of confusion with the Complainant’s CARTIER and LOVE marks as to the source, sponsorship, affiliation or endorsement of the Respondent’s website at the disputed domain name."

Because the respondent failed to submit a response in this proceeding and because the complainant managed to demonstrate al the elements needed,the Panel ordered the disputed domain name to be transferred from the respondent to the complainant.

 

You can see the decision here .


DKD DomainNews