Newsletter

e-mail address:

First Name:

Last Name:


Get Adobe Flash player

Site Sponsors

Get Adobe Flash player

BMW wins domain name case

E-mail Print

WIPO Arbitration and Mediation Center announced that a ruling has been issued in favor of BMW regarding rights to the Internet domain name bmwapprovedusedcars.com. Bayerische Motoren Werke AG,also known as BMW AG filed a complaint with the WIPO Arbitration and Mediation Center,requesting the bmwapprovedusedcars.com domain name to be transferred from the respondents to the complainant.
The company owns many trademark registrations all over the world for the " BMW " mark.Therefore,they contended in the complaint that the domain name is confusingly similar to its trademark.
Moreover,they contended that the respondents registered and used the domain name in bad faith.
"Respondent has registered first several other “.uk” domain names referring to prestigious motor car manufacturers, suggesting a pattern of conduct."
"...all circumstances indicate that the first Respondent registered the Domain Name primarily for the purpose of selling it to a third party, where after the second Respondent notified the Complainant that he had acquired the Domain Name for a sum of money."
Because the respondents failed to submit a response in this proceeding and because the complainant managed to demonstrate all the elements needed,the Panel decided bmwapprovedusedcars.com domain name to be transferred from the respondents to the complainant.

You can read the decision here .


DKD DomainNews