The National Arbitration Forum announced that a ruling has been issued in favor of Disney ,regarding rights to the Internet domain name DisneyOffer.com .Disney,represented in this case by J. Andrew Coombs,submitted a complaint to the National Arbitration Forum,asserting legal rights to the disputed domain name.
The company owns many trademark registrations with the United States Patent and Trademark Office (“USPTO”) for its "DISNEY" mark .Therefore,they contended that the disputed domain name is confusingly similar to its trademark.
Moreover,they contended in the complaint that the respondent registered and used the domain name in bad faith .
"Respondent registered the disputed domain name precisely for its trademark value, rather than in spite of it. Indeed, Respondent is no stranger to registering domain names which appear to infringe well-known trademarks including EBAY and CHEVY among others. "
"Respondent offered to sell the disputed domain name to Complainant for an unspecified amount. Perhaps more importantly the record shows, and Respondent does not deny that the disputed domain name was publically offered for sale via the registrar’s web-based auction facility."
The Panel ordered the disputed domain name be transferred from the respondent to the complainant.
You can read the decision here .



