An arbitrator with the WIPO Arbitration and Mediation Center has awarded the domain name Appl.com to Apple .
All started when Apple filed a complaint with the WIPO Arbitration and Mediation Center,asserting legal rights over the disputed domain name .
The company owns many trademark registrations for the "Apple" mark.Therefore,they contended the disputed domain name is confusingly similar to its trademark.
Moreover,they contended the respondent registered and used the domain name in bad faith.
"Respondent operates an online marketplace for domain names. According to Complainant it registered the disputed domain name in May 2005, since which time it has been used as a pay-per-click page, with hyperlinks to many products, including those of Complainant. Several links direct an Internet user to Complainant’s website. Others take the user to third party sites, among them second-level pay-per-click sites ."
The Panel ordered the disputed domain name be transferred from the respondent to the complainant.
You can read the decision here .



