AOL ,the American global Internet services and media company,has recently submitted a complaint to the National Arbitration Forum requesting four domain names to be transferred from the respondent to the complainant.
The four disputed domain names are :engadge5.com,wknamp.com,engadgst.com, and iwnamp.com .
AOL owns many trademark registrations with the United States Patent and Trademark Office for the "Engadget" and the "Winamp" marks .
Therefore,they contended that the disputed domain names are confusingly similar to its trademark.Moreover,they contended that the respondent registered and used the disputed domain names in bad faith .
"Respondent’s use of confusingly similar domain names to redirect Internet customers seeking Complainant to Respondent’s website featuring competing hyperlinks constitutes a disruption of Complainant’s business."
"Respondent profits from its receipt of click-through fees from its hyperlink to Complainant and the other competing hyperlinks. Respondent is attempting to profit by creating a likelihood of confusion as to Complainant’s affiliation with the disputed domain name and resolving website. "
Because the complainant managed to demonstrate all the elements needed and because the respondent failed to submit a response in this proceeding,the Panel ordered the four disputed domain names be transferred from the respondent to the complainant.
You can read the decision here .



