Newsletter



Receive HTML?

AOL wins domain name dispute

E-mail Print

AOL ,the American global Internet services and media company,has recently submitted a complaint to the National Arbitration Forum requesting the domain name  4ngadget.com to be transferrred from the respondent to the complainant. AOL,represented in this case by James R. Davis,had the "Engadget" mark registered with the United States Patent and Trademark Office.
Therefore,the company contended that the domain name is confusingly similar to its trademark.
Moreover,the complainant contended that the respondent,Marcelos Vainez,registered and used the disputed domain name in bad faith .
"Respondent is using a disputed domain name to divert Internet users to a website which displays links to commercial websites competing with business of Complainant, we may presume that Respondent is collecting click-through fees and thus profiting by creating a likelihood of confusion between Complainant’s ENGADGET mark and the confusingly similar disputed domain name.  Respondent’s use of the disputed domain name in this manner is evidence of its bad faith registration and use of the disputed domain."
Because the complainant managed to demonstrate all the elements needed,the Panel decided the disputed domain name to be transferred from the respondent to the complainant.

You can see here the decision


DKD DomainNews