Microsoft Corporation,represented by James F. Struthers,submitted a complaint to the National Arbitration Forum requesting the transfer of zunehd.net domain name.
The company states in the complaint that "the name was registered and is being used in bad faith. Respondent clearly had knowledge of the mark the time that it registered the domain name. Moreover, Respondent attempted to trade on Complainant’s mark, using the mark to attract Internet users to its site, as the users would assume that the site was affiliated with Complainant. In addition, Respondent contacted Complainant and offered to sell the name to Respondent. "
The respondent,Robert Altman said that the disputed domain name is not confusingly similar to Microsoft trademark and ,in addition he said that he was the one who has been approached by the complainant which offered him $500 for the domain name.
Even though the respondent also stated that one of the big differences between the complainant's mark and the domain name is that "hd" means hard drive,not high definition,the complainant's opinion is that it makes no difference whether the “hd” part of the name stands for high definition or hard drive.
It seems like the Panel agreed with the complainant statement ,believing that neither the "hd" term ,not the addition of the gTLD .net distinguish the name from the mark.
Moreover,the Panel found also that the domain name was registered and used in bad faith.
Therefore,they ordered the disputed domain name zunehd.net to be transferred from the respondent to the complainant.



