An arbitrator with National Arbitration Forum has awarded American International Group the finance-aig.com domain name.
American International Group,also known as AIG,submitted a complaint to the National Arbitration Forum,requesting the domain name finance-aig.com to be transferred from the respondent to the complainant.
The American insurance corporation owns many marks all over the world for the "AIG" mark,many if them registered with the United States Patent and Trademark Office.
Therefore they contended in the complaint that the disputed domain name is confusingly similar to its trademark.
Moreover,AIG,contended that the respondent registered and used the disputed domain name in bad faith.
"Respondent is using the disputed domain name in order to intentionally attract Internet users to its website by creating a strong possiblity of confusion with Complainant’s AIG mark. Respondent offers a high-yield investment scheme in direct competition with Complainant, which is further evidence of bad faith. "
"Respondent is using the disputed domain name to pass itself off as Complainant by prominently displaying a confusingly similar version of Complainant’s AIG mark on Respondent’s commercial website."
Because the respondent in the case did not file an official response,and because the complainant managed to demonstrate all the elements needed,the Panel decided the disputed domain name to be transferred from the respondent to the complainant.
You can see the decision here .



