American Airlines,a major airline of the United States,has recently a won a domain name case.
The airline company submitted a complaint to the National Arbitration Forum,requesting the domain name advantagemiles.com to be transferred from the respondent to the complainant.
American Airlines holds a trademark registration with the United States Patent and Trademark Office for the "AAdvantage" mark.
Therefore,they contended in the complaint that the disputed domain name is confusingly similar to its trademark.Moreover,they contended that the respondent registered and used the disputed domain name in bad faith.
"Respondent’s registration and use of the disputed domain name to link Internet users to websites featuring third-party links which are in competition with Complainant constitutes a disruption of Complainant’s business and is evidence of bad faith."
"Respondent’s use of the disputed domain name to intentionally attract Internet users to the disputed domain name and profit through the receipt of pay-per-click fees by creating a strong likelihood of confusion with Complainant’s AADVANTAGE mark is evidence of bad faith."
Because the respondent failed to submit a response in this proceeding and because the complainant managed to demonstrate all the elements needed,the Panel ordered the disputed domain name to be transferred from the respondent to the complainant.
You can read the decision here .

